Definitions for "Indian National Congress"
Keywords:  gandhi, urs, broke, devraj, indira
Indian political party founded in 1855 that dominated the move to independence under Mahatma Gandhi. Formed the first Indian governments after independence in 1947.
Indian National Congress (also known as the Congress Party or Congress (I), abbreviated INC) is a major political party in India. Created in 1885 by AO Hume, Dadabhai Naoroji and Sir Dinshaw Edulji Wacha, the Indian National Congress became the nation's leader in the Independence Movement, with over 15 million Indians involved in its organizations and over 70 million participants in its struggle against the British Empire. After independence in 1947, it became the nation's dominant political party, only challenged for leadership in more recent decades.
Indian Congress (Socialist) (IC(S)) was a political party in India between 1978 and 1986. The party was formed through a split in the Indian National Congress. Initially the party was known as the Indian National Congress (Urs) and was led by D.