Definitions for "Government Offices for the Regions"
Keywords:  nine, rcu, defra, odpm, outposts
The nine English Government Offices exist to promote the improved delivery of services that have cross-cutting outcomes. The Government Offices (GOs) were set up in 1994. They now bring together the English regional services for the following departments: Office of the Deputy Prime Minister Department of Trade and Industry Department for Education and Skills Department for Transport Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Home Office Department for Culture, Media & Sport Department of Health Department for Work and Pensions
These work on behalf of a range of Departments in key policy areas. There are nine such offices in England. Each includes the relevant Regional Resilience Team. Government Offices for the Regions website [External website
These are government offices, each working with regional partners and local people to deliver the government's key aims at a regional level.