Definitions for "Census Metropolitan Area"
A Census Metropolitan Area is an urban region identified by Statistics Canada as having a population of more than 100,000 people. The Employment Equity Act identifies eight designated CMAs. They are: Vancouver, Calgary, Edmonton, Regina, Winnipeg, Toronto, Montréal and Halifax.
The term used by Statistics Canada to denote the main labour market area of an urbanized core having 100,000 or more population.
A large urban area (known as urban core) together with adjacent urban and rural areas that have a high degree of social and economic integration with the urban core. A CMA has an urban core population of at least 100,000 based on the previous census.