Definitions for "Visa Waiver Program"
The Visa Waiver Program allows foreign nationals from certain countries to be admitted to the United States under limited conditions and for a limited time without first obtaining a visa. This program permits nationals from designated countries to enter the United States for ninety (90) days or less as visitors for business or pleasure. The following countries are presently participants in this program: Andorra, Austria, Australia, Belgium, Brunei, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. Some countries (currently Andorra, Belgium, Brunei, Liechtenstein, and Slovenia) are required to have machine-readable passports to take advantage of this program.
A program established by the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986, allowing citizens of certain countries on a reciprocal basis who wish to enter the United States under the nonimmigrant classes of visitors to do so without a visa, provided their stay does not exceed 90 days.
Allows citizens of certain participating countries, meeting the Visa Waiver Program requirements to enter the United States as visitors for pleasure or business without first getting a visa. Visitors can stay only 90 days and can not extend their stay.