A way to purchase advertising based on the revenue generated by your ad. Typically, you pay the publisher a percentage of this revenue.
The price you pay to get someone to take action (subscribe to a newsletter, place an order…). For example, a $20 ad that gets 5 orders gives a CPA of $4.
This is the price paid for a particular action like signing up for an e- newsletter, entering a contest, registering on the site, etc.
Advertiser is charged only for the action or acquisition of a transaction
Kind of like the clickthrough rate, but for other actions. The advertiser might be paying for forms filled out, programs downloaded, sales of their product, etc.
Cost per action is the cost to an advertiser for a specific, predetermined action taken by a viewer/consumer during an ad campaign. In such a campaign, the advertiser pays only when the specific, predetermined action is taken.
Pricing method in which advertisers pay a fee based on the number of specified consumer actions, however that is defined, such as registrations, requests for information or sales that its advertisements produce
The average cost of each action, expressed as the result of a mathematical formula: Total click costs/Number of conversions = Cost per Action CPA is used to report on customers and conversions.
Otherwise known as CPA, the amount paid to acquire a prospect and convert the prospect into performing an activity on a Web site (such as ordering, responding, submitting a form, contacting the company, etc.)
A cost model incurred based on a user taking some specifically defined action in respond to an ad. Examples of actions include sales transaction, customer acquisition or registration.
A type of advertising in which a web site gets paid each time an end user performs a desired action.
The cost metric for each time a commissionable action takes place.
The cost incurred or price paid for a specific action, such as signing up for an email newsletter, entering a contest, registering on the site, completing a survey, downloading trial software, printing a coupon, etc. See also: Action Point, ClickThrough Rate, Conversion, Conversion Rate, Cost per Click, Cost per Thousand, Search Engine Marketing
Cost Per Action or CPA (as it is often initialized to) is a phrase often used in online advertising and online marketing circles.